Twelve Etudes (Douze Etudes) [piano solo] Debussy

Twelve Etudes (Douze Etudes) [piano solo] Debussy


Building on the tradition of the piano study championed by Chopin, Liszt and Scriabin, Debussy composed his Douze Études in 1915, dedicated 'à la mémoire de Frédéric Chopin'. Each taking a small compositional element as a departure point ('five fingers', 'ornaments' or an interval such as the third or octave), they are really much more than studies, but rather extremely virtuosic character pieces in which all facets of Debussy's pianistic style are showcased. They represent his last significant contribution to the piano repertoire and are a true masterpiece of the genre. This Schott Essential Exercises edition includes a few words on the études from Claude Debussy himself, and a more detailed preface by Jacob Leuschner, including the history of the work and notes on performance.

Table of Contents:

Publisher: Hal Leonard
Catalog: HL49045113
Composer: Claude Debussy
Voicing: Piano
Pages: 102

Twelve Etudes (Douze Etudes) [piano solo] Debussy
Out of stock
Price: $27.99

Customer Reviews

(0.00)stars out of 5
# of Ratings: 0